Young Playwrights' Theater inspires young people to realize the power of their own voices.

Read the review!

Read the review!

Promising Playwright, Josie Walyus

Promising Playwright, Josie Walyus

Meet the Cast!

Three Cheers to Grace stars Elenilson Ayala, Katie Rey Bogdan, Suzanne Edgar, Madelyn Farris, Stefanie Garcia, Mimsi Janis, Tre’Mon Mills,...

Read the Media Release

 For Immediate Release
January 23, 2019


Moments from the Three Cheers to Grace First Read

On January 15 2019, our talented and diverse cast, crew and playwright gathered for the first reading of Three Cheers to Grace. In addition to castmembers, Director Eric Ruffin, Assistant Director...

Moments from the Three Cheers to Grace Workshop Reading

On November 17, 2018, as part of YPT's new play development model, a group of professional actors, along with director Eric Ruffin and YPT Artistic Director Farah Lawal Harris prepared a workshop...

Three Cheers to Grace Landing Page

Directed by Eric Ruffin
Three Cheers to Grace by Josie Walyus

February 22 - March 3, 2019 | Thursday - Sunday

Dance Loft on 14
4618 14th St NW,
Washington, DC 20011

After waking from a coma following a tragic car accident, Eliza becomes devoted to her hospitalized best friend, Grace, who remains comatose. But as time goes by, Eliza must come to terms with Grace’s condition and her own coming of age, while Grace must watch the world move around her, unable to speak, but with so much to that needs to be said. 

This was YPT’s first-ever two-week long production of a full-length student-written play. YPT is proud to present the work of 2018 New Play Festival playwright alumna Josie Walyus, an amazing alumna of YPT's In-School Playwriting Program and currently a sophomore at H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program in Arlington, VA.

See highlights from the production!
All photos by Ryan Maxwell Photography

This project was supported by the Mayor's Office on Latino Affairs, the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities and the National Endowment for the Arts as well as additional funders and individual supporters.